VALLEY OF LOVE

Director: Guillaume Nicloux
Cast: Isabelle Huppert, Gérard Depardieu, Dan Warber
Country: France, 2015
Language: English and French with English subtitles
Genre: Drama / Road Movie
Rating: M, Offensive language
Duration: 92 mins
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival 2015, Official Competition

“Depardieu and Huppert have the tender complicity of war veterans bound together by old wounds and half-forgotten skirmishes. The affectionate rapport between the actors and their characters is evident in every scene. They are a captivating screen couple.”
Allan Hunter, SCREEN

Synopsis

Two of French cinema’s greatest stars – remarkably, sharing the screen for the first time in over 30 years – unite for this haunting and moving tale of love, loss, memory and the mystical, which received its world premiere in Official Competition at the 2015 Cannes Film Festival.

The extraordinary Isabelle Huppert and an irrepressibly in-form Gérard Depardieu play a divorced couple who come together in the grand landscape of Death Valley, following a mysterious summons from their long-dead son. The couple’s past and their unresolved feelings play out in hotel rooms, restaurants and among the desert perspectives of Nevada, as they move towards a mysterious epiphany that powerfully echoes Peter Weir’s Picnic At Hanging Rock.

Perfectly orchestrated by Guillaume Nicloux, the versatile director behind The Nun and The Kidnapping of Michel Houellebecq, this superb two-hander is touching, playful, grand and tender, as the two performers, partly playing versions of themselves, discover a new chemistry as they muse on the past, the present and their own changes, both spiritual and physical.

Visually beautiful and deeply resonant, Valley of Love is a memorable cinematic duet played by major virtuosos.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Thu 18 Feb 6.30pm E
Fri 19 Feb 12.15pm D
Sat 27 Feb 6.30pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Tue 1 Mar 6.40pm
Thu 3 Mar 4.00pm
Sun 6 Mar 5.40pm
Wed 9 Mar 10.00am
Fri 11 Mar 6.30pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Fri 26 Feb 2.45pm
Sun 28 Feb 6.30pm
Fri 4 Mar 12.15pm
Tue 8 Mar 2.45pm
Sat 12 Mar 6.30pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sun 6 Mar 6.30pm
Fri 11 Mar 12.15pm
Tue 15 Mar 2.45pm
Sat 19 Mar 6.30pm

TIMARU
Sat 5 Mar 6.30pm
Thu 17 Mar 11.00am

NELSON
Fri 18 Mar 6.15pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Fri 11 Mar 6.30pm

TAURANGA
Fri 11 Mar 6.30pm

ARROWTOWN
Thu 24 Mar 6.00pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sat 26 Mar 6.15pm
Thu 31 Mar 3.45pm

HAMILTON
Mon 28 Mar 8.30pm
Sat 9 April 6.10pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Thu 31 Mar 6.15pm
Tue 5 April 3.45pm

DUNEDIN
Wed 6 April 2.15pm
Sat 9 April 4.30pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Valley of Love Online

web-icon-25    Palace Films

More films from this category of the 2016 French Film Festival