UN VILLAGE FRANÇAIS — SEASON 1, EPISODES 1 & 2

Directors: Frédéric Krivine, Emmanuel Daucé, Philippe Triboit
Cast: Robin Renucci, Audrey Fleurot, Emmanuelle Bach
Country: France, 2009
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: War / TV
Rating: M, Violence, offensive language, drug use and nudity
Duration: 100 minutes

“It’s a subtle, historically accurate but not unsympathetic look at ordinary people suddenly tested by war, defeat and enemy invasion.”
Alessandra Stanley, NY Times

Synopsis

During the Second World War, the small town of Villeneuve, in the East of France, falls under Nazi occupation. The community has to live in a world where patterns are disrupted, a world of fear and danger.

In the two first episodes of this award-winning historical series, we observe the lives of the Schwartz, Germain, and Crémieux families on the 12th and 24th of June 1940, just as the Germans arrive and implement a new order.

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Mon 22 Feb 6.15pm D
Sun 28 Feb 6.40pm D *Please note this is an amended screening time from the one advertised in the print programme
Tue 1 Mar 1.15pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Mon 29 Feb 6.30pm
Sat 5 Mar 4.25pm
Wed 9 Mar 4.10pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Fri 26 Feb 4.45pm
Mon 29 Feb 8.45pm
Mon 7 Mar 2.15pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Fri 4 Mar 2.40pm
Mon 14 Mar 2.15pm
Thu 17 Mar 10.00am

TIMARU
Fri 4 Mar 12.00pm

NELSON
Fri 11 Mar 4.00pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Fri 11 Mar 12.00pm

TAURANGA
Fri 11 Mar 10.30am

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sun 27 Mar 12.45pm
Tue 29 Mar 11.15am

HAMILTON
Tue 29 Mar 11.15am

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sat 2 April 1.30pm

DUNEDIN
Sat 2 April 2.20pm
Tue 5 April 1.30pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2016 French Film Festival