Two Friends / Les deux amis

Director: Louis Garrel
Cast: Golshifteh Farahani, Vincent Macaigne, Louis Garrel
Country: France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2015
Genre: Drama
Rating: M Violence, offensive language, sex scenes & content that may disturb
Duration: 102 min
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival 2015, Critics’ Week

“A seductive three-way dramedy.” The Hollywood Reporter

Synopsis

Clément, a cynical and joyfully melancholy film extra, is madly in love with Mona, who works at a sandwich stand in the Gare du Nord in Paris. But Mona has a secret, which makes her vague and evanescent. When Clément despairs of ever winning her over, his only and best friend, Abel, comes to his rescue. Together, they set out on an adventure of romantic conquest. But the number three is one too many for two.

Louis Garrel co-wrote his feature directing debut with auteur Christophe Honoré, setting it between burlesque and lyricism, comedy and drama, the film is cleverly and sensitively directed. Filmed on 35mm which highlights an intense colour palette, the film features provocative performances from its young cast. A man of many talents, Garrel (also in From the Land of the Moon and Planetarium) is known for tackling challenging roles as an actor, and now branches with ease into directing. Garrel is the son of renowned director Philippe Garrel, whose In the Shadow of Women is also featured in this year’s Festival, giving us the delight of enjoying the distinct yet mesmerising styles of two generations of Garrels.

Proudly supported by

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sun 5 Mar 8:15 pm D
Wed 8 Mar 4:05 pm D
Wed 15 Mar 4:30 pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Wed 8 Mar 8:30 pm
Mon 13 Mar 12:15 pm
Fri 17 Mar 6:25 pm
Wed 22 Mar 10:45 am

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sat 4 Mar 3:55 pm
Fri 10 Mar 6:20 pm
Mon 20 Mar 10:30 am

NELSON
Fri 10 Mar 1:15 pm
Fri 17 Mar 11:00 am

CHRISTCHURCH
Fri 10 Mar 2:00 pm
Wed 15 Mar 8:35 pm
Mon 20 Mar 4:30 pm

TIMARU
Wed 15 Mar 12:00 pm

ARROWTOWN
Thurs 23 Mar 3:30 pm

TAURANGA
Thurs 23 Mar 6:00 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Fri 24 Mar 8:10 pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Fri 31 Mar 4:20 pm

HAMILTON
Sat 25 Mar 4:00 pm
Thurs 6 Apr 6:20 pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Fri 7 Apr 8:00 pm
Wed 12 Apr 11:00 am

DUNEDIN
Wed 5 Apr 8:30 pm
Tues 11 Apr 12:05 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Les deux amis Online

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival