Turning Tide / En Solitaire

2014 ARCHIVE

Director: Christophe Offenstein
Cast: François Cluzet, Guillaume Canet, Virginie Efira, Samy Seghir
Country: France, 2013
Genre: Drama
Duration: 96 minutes
Rating: M – offensive language

Turning Tide, a thrilling adventure picture set on the open seas, marks the directorial debut of famed cinematographer, Christophe Offenstein (Blood Ties). This big budget production stars François Cluzet (Intouchables and Tell No One) as Yann Kermadec, a taciturn Breton who, after his friend Franck (heart-throb Guillaume Canet) breaks a leg, steps in to skipper a high-tech yacht for the Vendée Globe, a strictly solo three month round-the-world yacht race.

Early misfortune sees Yann’s boat briefly laid up in the Canary Islands, but when he rejoins the race, he discovers he is carrying a teenage stowaway, Mano (Samy Seghir). Realising his long cherished dream of winning the Vendée Globe is imperiled by the presence of the young Mauritian, a furious Yann refuses to speak to the boy. However, slowly his hostility gives way to empathy and an understanding of Mano’s predicament.

While this stunning film makes a poignant comment on migration, it is the breathtaking action sequences that make it a cinematic experience not to be missed.

Screening Times

CHRISTCHURCH

Fri 28 Feb 4:30 PM

Sat 1 Mar 8:30 PM

AUCKLAND – RIALTO

Sat 1 Mar 8:30 PM

Thu 6 Mar 6:30 PM

Fri 7 Mar 10:30 AM

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA

Sat 8 Mar 8:45 PM

Wed 12 Mar 6:30 PM

TIMARU

Fri 28 Feb 8:30 PM

Mon 3 Mar 6:30 PM

NELSON

Thu 6 Mar 8:30 PM

Mon 10 Mar 4:30 PM

TAURANGA

Fri 14 Mar 6:30 PM

Mon 17 Mar 10:30 AM

WELLINGTON

Fri 21 Mar 8:30 PM E

Sat 29 Mar 6:30 PM D

Mon 31 Mar 6:30 PM E

DUNEDIN

Fri 21 Mar 8:30 PM

Mon 24 Mar 6:30 PM

HAVELOCK NORTH

Sat 29 Mar 8:30 PM

Tue 1 Apr 6:30 PM

PALMERSTON NORTH

Fri 4 Apr 8:30 PM

Sun 6 Apr 3:30 PM

HAMILTON

Sat 5 Apr 6:15 PM

Fri 11 Apr 1:30 PM

Sun 20 Apr 6:00 PM

ARROWTOWN

Fri 11 Apr 6:00 PM

Mon 14 Apr 11:00 AM

 

E EMBASSY THEATRE

D DELUXE THEATRE

Trailer