The Woods Dreams are Made of 
Le bois dont les rêves sont faits

Director: Claire Simon
Country: France, Switzerland
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of Production: 2015
Genre: Documentary
Rating: Exempt
Duration: 146 min
Festivals: Locarno International Film Festival 2015

“An incredible portrait of modern society: varied, surprising, at times obscene in its diversity, but always very human.” Cineuropa

Synopsis

There are days when we can no longer live in the city, when we can no longer stand seeing nothing but buildings, and hear nothing but the sounds of cars… Then we remember nature, and think of the woods. The bustle of the city disappears as we are transported into a place of serenity. The Bois de Vincennes is a true illusion, a wild world at hand, a reachable form of a lost Eden within everyone’s grasp. People from all walks of life have the right to be here: rich or poor, French or foreign, gay or straight, old or young, old fashioned or trendy.

Throughout the seasons, the series of exchanges speak of this utopia that everyone imagines for him or herself.

Clare Simon leads us into a somewhat idyllic world where every human being has the right to express his or her true nature. No matter who you are or where you come from, the woods transforms into a refuge for those who want to escape from a world that has become too frantic. The director shows us a fundamental reality that enriches our day-to-day lives, but we all too often ignore. Claire Simon’s voice, imbued with a rare lightness and grace, transforms the forest of Vincennes into a dreamlike setting with a wistful air. A documentary that is profound and at the same time carries with it a liberating lightness.

Proudly supported by

Trailer

French Trailer (no subtitles)

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Tues 7 Mar 10:30 am D
Thurs 16 Mar 1:30 pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Tues 7 Mar 10:00 am
Mon 20 Mar 1:00 pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Thurs 9 Mar 1:00 pm
Sat 18 Mar 10:30 am

NELSON
Tues 14 Mar 11:00 am

CHRISTCHURCH
Mon 20 Mar 10:30 am
Fri 24 Mar 10:30 am

TIMARU
Mon 13 Mar 12:00 pm

ARROWTOWN
Tues 21 Mar 11:00 am

TAURANGA
Fri 24 Mar 10:45 am

PALMERSTON NORTH
Thur 30 Mar 10:30 am

NEW PLYMOUTH
Thurs 30 Mar 10:30 am

HAMILTON
Fri 7 Apr 11:00 am

HAVELOCK NORTH
Wed 5 Apr 1:30 pm

DUNEDIN
Tues 4 Apr 10:30 am

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival