The Unknown Girl / La fille inconnue

2017 ARCHIVE

Directors: Jean-Pierre Dardenne, Luc Dardenne
Cast: Adèle Haenel, Olivier Bonnaud, Jérémie Renier, Louka Minella, Olivier Gourmet
Country: Belgium, France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2015
Genre: Drama
Rating: M Offensive language
Duration: 106 min
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival, Official Competition

“An involving, thoughtful watch.” Empire

Synopsis

Jenny, a young general practitioner, feels guilty for not having opened the door of her practice to a girl who is found dead shortly after. On learning from the police that they have no way of identifying her, Jenny has only one goal: to discover the name of the young girl so that she will not be buried anonymously, and that she will not disappear as if she had never lived.

Cannes Film Festival regulars the Dardenne brothers are famed for social realist films such as Two Days, One Night and Rosetta. With The Unknown Girl they stay in the vein of their cinéma engagé. The film is an intelligent, emotional journey, reflecting the brothers’ strong tradition of superb writing and impressive directing. Adèle Haenel (also in Ogres) is a stand-out, seamlessly portraying Jenny’s transition from seemingly cold and detached professional, to a guilt-ridden and determined pursuer of justice.

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Mon 6 Mar 1:30 pm D
Wed 15 Mar 2:10 pm E
Mon 20 Mar 8:15 pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 10 Mar 1:55 pm
Wed 15 Mar 8:30 pm
Tues 21 Mar 12:05 pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sun 5 Mar 8:20 pm
Wed 8 Mar 6:10 pm
Fri 17 Mar 10:30 pm

NELSON
Tues 14 Mar 8:30 pm
Fri 17 Mar 1:15 pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Tues 14 Mar 2:00 pm
Mon 20 Mar 8:30 pm

TIMARU
Thurs 16 Mar 7:30 pm

ARROWTOWN
Mon 20 Mar 8:15 pm

TAURANGA
Mon 20 Mar 6:00 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Wed 29 Mar 8:10 pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Mon 27 Mar 2:30 pm

HAMILTON
Tues 28 Mar 8:30 pm
Tues 11 Apr 11:00 am

HAVELOCK NORTH
Mon 3 Apr 8:10 pm
Tues 11 Apr 1:30 pm

DUNEDIN
Thurs 6 Apr 8:30 pm
Mon 10 Apr 12:15 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival