The Odyssey / L’Odyssée

Opening Night

Director: Jérôme Salle
Cast: Lambert Wilson, Audrey Tautou, Pierre Niney, Vincent Heneine, Laurent Lucas, Benjamin Lavernhe
Country: France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2016
Genre: Biopic, Adventure
Rating: PG Coarse language
Duration: 123 min
Festivals: San Sebastian International Film Festival 2016
Awards: Académie des César Award for Best Sound

“Astonishing and sumptuous, this film of Jérôme Salle makes us discover unknown aspects of the personality of the man with the red cap.” Le Parisien

Synopsis

1948. Jacques-Yves Cousteau, his wife, and his two sons live in paradise in a beautiful house looking out over the Mediterranean Sea. But Cousteau dreams of adventure. Thanks to his invention, an autonomous diving suit that allows him to breathe underwater, he has discovered a new world. He will explore this world, and is prepared to sacrifice everything to do so.

Lambert Wilson embodies with force and mastery this passionate explorer, who transforms into a demanding businessman, and – in his later life – into the famous environmental activist. On board his ship, The Calypso, Cousteau travelled the seas. As the ‘man with the red cap’, he was known for his underwater explorations, bringing the magic of that world to an international TV audience in his popular documentaries.

This film invites us to marvel at the magic that lies underwater – one lyrical sequence shows a majestic whale drifting peacefully in the blue sea. Combining elements of biopic and romantic fresco full of family drama, The Odyssey takes us on an adventurous journey.

Trailer

Screenings

Celebrate the Opening Night of the Alliance Française French Film Festival 2017 by joining us 45 minutes before the printed screening time* at participating cinemas.
The ticket price for this event includes a glass of wine from our Official Wine Sponsor, Clos Henri.

* Dorothy Browns Arrowtown, Lido Cinema Hamilton and Rialto Cinemas Tauranga: opening night 30 minutes before the screening.
Please note that no official opening night will be held in Timaru or Berkeley Cinemas Takapuna, Auckland.


Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Wed 1 Mar 6:30 pm E
Mon 6 Mar 3:50 pm D
Wed 15 Mar 8:35 pm D
Sun 19 Mar 1:30 pm D
Tues 21 Mar 10:30 am D
ENCORE SESSION: 
Sun 2 Apr 3:20 pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Thurs 2 Mar 8:15 pm
Mon 6 Mar 12:00 pm
Tues 14 Mar 10:30 am
Sat 18 Mar 6:20 pm
Wed 22 Mar 1:00 pm
ENCORE SESSION: Sat 1 Apr 4:00 pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Fri 3 Mar 12:30 pm
Mon 6 Mar 6:00 pm
Sun 12 Mar 2:00 pm
Thurs 16 Mar 12:30 pm
ENCORE SESSION: Sun 9 Apr 3:30 pm

NELSON
Wed 8 Mar 6:30 pm
Sat 11 Mar 3:30 pm
Sun 19 Mar 3:00 pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Thurs 9 Mar 6:30 pm
Tues 14 Mar 4:20 pm
Sun 19 Mar 1:40 pm
Fri 24 Mar 8:45 pm
ENCORE SESSION: Sat 8 Apr 3:30 pm

TIMARU
Thurs 9 Mar 6:00 pm
Tues 14 Mar 5:00 pm

ARROWTOWN
Thurs 16 Mar 5:45 pm
Sun 19 Mar 3:30 pm

TAURANGA
Thurs 16 Mar 6:00 pm
Sun 26 Mar 4:30 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Wed 22 Mar 6:30 pm
Fri 31 Mar 8:00 pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Thurs 23 Mar 6:30 pm
Tues 4 April 2:30 pm

HAMILTON
Thurs 23 Mar 7:45 pm
Sun 2 Apr 11:05 am
Tues 11 Apr 8:30 pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Wed 29 Mar 6:30 pm SOLD OUT
Mon 3 Apr 11:00 am
Mon 10 Apr 8:10 pm

DUNEDIN
Thur 30 Mar 6:15 pm
Mon 3 Apr 6:00 pm
Sun 9 Apr 1:25 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

L’Odyssée Online

More Special Events at the 2017 French Film Festival