The Lovely Month Of May / Le Joli Mai

2014 ARCHIVE

Director: Chris Marker, Pierre Lhomme
Cast: The people of Paris.
Country: France, 1962
Genre: Documentary
Duration: 145 minutes
Rating: Exempt

The Lovely Month of May is a portrait of Paris and Parisians shot during May 1962.

It is a film with several thousand actors including a poet, a student, an owl, a housewife, a stockbroker, a competitive dancer, French lovers, General de Gaulle and several cats.

The Lovely Month of May documents Paris during a turning point in French history: the first “spring of peace” in France following the Algerian War.

Chris Marker, his co-director Pierre Lhomme and their crew conduct “man on the street” interviews to see what Parisians are concerned about — the answers range from colonialization, strikes and racial inequality to making clothing for cats. The result is a playful, fresh and honest snapshot of one of the most incredible cities in the world.

Le Joli Mai is a priceless portrait of a country in transition; it displays the reality that lay underneath the hip, glamorous Paris-set films the French New Wave made around the same time.”

 

Screening Times

CHRISTCHURCH

Sat 1 Mar 10:30 AM

AUCKLAND – RIALTO

Sat 1 Mar 1:30 PM

Sat 15 Mar 1:30 PM

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA

Sat 8 Mar 10:30 AM

TIMARU

Sun 9 Mar 10:30 AM

NELSON

Sat 15 Mar 11:10 AM

WELLINGTON

Sun 30 Mar 1:30 PM E

Thu 3 Apr 11:00 AM D

DUNEDIN

Sat 29 Mar 11:30 AM

HAVELOCK NORTH

Sun 6 Apr 10:30 AM

PALMERSTON NORTH

Sat 12 Apr 11:30 AM

HAMILTON

Sat 5 Apr 11:00 AM

 

E EMBASSY THEATRE

D DELUXE THEATRE

Trailer