THE LAST DIAMOND / LE DERNIER DIAMANT

2015 ARCHIVE

Director: Eric Barbier
Cast: Yvan Attal, Bérénice Bejo, Jean-François Stévenin, Antoine Basler, Jacques Spiesser
Country: France, Belgium
Year: 2014
Genre: Thriller / Heist
Duration: 108 mniutes
Rating: NZ rating TBC

“One can only applaud the boldness of The Last Diamond.”

Le Point 

Synopsis

The “Florentin”, a fabled, 137-carat yellow diamond last seen in 1918, has resurfaced and is up for sale at an exclusive Antwerp auction house. Simon, a thief recently released on parole, is bullied into taking on the most intricate and riskiest theft of his career. To succeed, he must get close to Julia, a beautiful diamond expert, for whom the sale is of considerable personal importance.

Simon starts to assemble the pieces of his elaborate ruse, suspecting that he is just another piece of someone else’s complex jigsaw puzzle. But when no one is who they appear to be, the streetwise don’t make their move until the last mask comes off. And beyond the boldly daring theft, Simon will lead Julia toward a destiny that she could never have imagined.

Following in the tradition of Jean-Pierre Melville’s Le Cercle Rouge and The Thomas Crown Affair, Eric Barbier’s new film sees French A-lister Yvan Attal team up with The Artist’s Oscar-nominated star Bérénice Bejo to bring the sophisticated heist movie roaring back to life.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

To buy tickets, click the screening time in your city to go straight to the cinema’s website.
Note that in Hamilton and Arrowtown tickets are not online and are only available from cinemas.


AUCKLAND – RIALTO
Wed 4 Mar 12:30 PM
Fri 6 Mar 8:45 PM

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sat 28 Feb 8:45 PM
Mon 2 Mar 8:30 PM

CHRISTCHURCH
Fri 6 Mar 4:15 PM
Tue 10 Mar 8:30 PM

NELSON
Thu 5 Mar 8:30 PM
Wed 11 Mar 4:00 PM

TIMARU
Thu 12 Mar 8:30 PM

WELLINGTON
Mon 16 Mar 6:30 PM E
Fri 20 Mar 10:30 PM D

TAURANGA
Thu 19 Mar 6:15 PM

DUNEDIN
Sat 28 Mar 8:30 PM

HAVELOCK NORTH
Tue 24 Mar 8:30 PM

ARROWTOWN
Mon 30 Mar 8:30 PM

PALMERSTON NORTH
Mon 13 Apr 8:30 PM

HAMILTON
Tue 14 Apr 8:30 PM

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

The Last Diamond Online