The Exes / Les Ex

 Sexual references

Director: Maurice Barthélemy
Cast: Jean-Paul Rouve, Patrick Chesnais, Arnaud Ducret, Baptiste Lecaplain, Stéfi Celma, Judith El Zein, Alice David, Natacha Lindinger
Country: France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2016
Genre: Romantic comedy
Duration: 84 min

“A kind of anti-Love Actually, which illustrates the old adage: ‘Exes, we can’t live with them, but we can’t live without them’.” Voici

Synopsis

If Paris is the city of lovers, it is also that of… exes. Antoine no longer dares to become involved with anyone, Didier regrets breaking up with his ex-wife, Laurent is obliged to celebrate the marriage of his ex Julie, Serge is hassled by Lise, his current girlfriend’s ex, while Greg finds consolation with his ex’s dog. Whether we’re obsessing about them or we love hating them, deep down, it’s difficult to forget our exes.

With an outstanding ensemble cast, Maurice Barthélemy intricately presents the story of five different couples in this humorous romantic comedy. He looks into dynamics between couples and exes from different generations with a selection of hilarious characters, and creates the most unpredictable situations on screen. Keeping in the spirit of the best romantic comedies, Barthélemy adds an unmistakeable French flair that will certainly delight rom-coms lovers.

Trailer

French trailer (no subtitles)

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS NEWMARKET
Mon 5 March 6:30 pm
Fri 9 March 12:25 pm
Wed 14 March 10:00 am
Tue 20 March 12:00 pm

AUCKLAND – BERKELEY CINEMAS TAKAPUNA
Sat 3 March 5:30 pm
Wed 7 March 12:45 pm
Tue 13 March 6:20 pm

CHRISTCHURCH – HOYTS RICCARTON
Mon 12 March 8:35 pm
Tue 20 March 10:30 am
Sat 24 March 1:50 pm

WELLINGTON – EMBASSY THEATRE
Fri 9 March 3:55 pm D
Wed 14 March 10:30 am D
Sat 24 March 6:20 pm D

NEW PLYMOUTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Sun 18 March 4:15 pm

NELSON – SUTER THEATRE
Fri 16 March 11:00 am
Mon 26 March 4:00 pm

TIMARU – MOVIE MAX DIGITAL
Wed 21 March 5:30 pm

TAURANGA – RIALTO CINEMAS
Tue 20 March 8:15 pm
Sun 25 March 5:30 pm

HAVELOCK NORTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Sat 24 March 8:30 pm
Thu 29 March 11:15 am

DUNEDIN – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sat 24 March 2:00 pm
Wed 28 March 8:30 pm

HAMILTON – LIDO CINEMA
Sun 1 April 7:30 pm
Thu 5 April 11:00 am

ARROWTOWN – DOROTHY BROWNS
Sat 7 April 1:15 pm
Fri 13 April 11:00 am

PALMERSTON NORTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Mon 9 April 8:10 pm
Thu 12 April 1:20 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2018 French Film Festival