ROSALIE BLUM

Director: Julien Rappeneau
Cast: Noémie Lvovsky, Kyan Khojandi, Alice Isaaz, Anémone, Philippe Rebbot
Country: France, 2016
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Comedy
Rating: M, Offensive language
Duration: 96 minutes
Festivals: Festival du Film de Sarlat 2015, Audience Prize, Best Actress

International Première

Synopsis

Based on the award-winning series of graphic novels by Camille Jourdy, Julien Rappeneau’s enchanting directorial debut Rosalie Blum is a warm, witty and impeccably performed comedy about a random encounter that has unexpected and far-reaching consequences.

Thirty-something Vincent Machot (indelibly played by Kyan Khojandi) is a hairdresser, like his father before him. Life rotates around work, his overbearing mother who lives in the apartment upstairs, and a womanising cousin constantly trying to set him up. But one morning Vincent experiences a powerful déjà-vu when he meets the gaze of a grocery store clerk, Rosalie Blum (the fabulous Noémie Lvovsky). Intrigued by this mysterious woman, he begins following her…

To reveal more would only spoil the surprises of Rappeneau’s ingeniously structured tale, other than to say that a series of coincidences – both hilarious and dramatic
– memorably brings together a group of lost souls in a manner reminiscent of Claude Berri’s wonderful Hunting and Gathering.

With its themes of fraternity, love and the need for human connection, Rosalie Blum is a joy to watch.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Celebrate the start of the Alliance Française French Film Festival 2016 with a screening of the enchanting and witty comedy Rosalie Blum.
Ticket-holders are invited to attend the opening night 45 minutes before the screening time* at participating cinemas.
Includes a glass of complimentary wine from Official Wine Sponsor Clos Henri and film screening.

*Rialto Cinemas Newmarket: event start time listed in screening schedule. Special ticket prices will apply (see Ticketing Info).
Please note that no official opening night will be held in Timaru, New Plymouth or Berkeley Cinemas Takapuna, Auckland.


Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Wed 17 Feb 6.30pm E ** SELLING FAST
Sat 20 Feb 6.30pm E
Tue 23 Feb 12.45pm D
Fri 26 Feb 6.15pm E
Sun 28 Feb 2.15pm D
Wed 2 Mar 3.30pm D
Sun 6 Mar 1.30pm E (now screening in main auditorium)

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Thu 25 Feb 8.30pm** SELLING FAST
Sat 27 Feb 6.20pm
Tue 1 Mar 2.15pm
Fri 4 Mar 6.20pm
Sun 6 Mar 5.30pm
Thu 10 Mar 4.30pm
Sun 13 Mar 3.00pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sun 28 Feb 4.30pm
Sat 5 Mar 6.30pm
Tue 8 Mar 4.45pm
Sat 12 Mar 4.20pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Thu 3 Mar 7.30pm **
Sun 6 Mar 4.30pm
Sat 12 Mar 6.30pm
Tue 15 Mar 4.45pm
Sat 19 Mar 4.20pm

TIMARU
Thu 3 Mar 6.30pm
Sat 12 Mar 6.30pm
Sat 19 Mar 12.00pm

NELSON
Wed 9 Mar 6.30pm **
Sun 13 Mar 5.35pm
Mon 14 Mar 6.15pm
Fri 18 Mar 4.00pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Thu 10 Mar 6.30pm
Sat 19 Mar 4.20pm

TAURANGA
Thu 10 Mar 6.30pm ** SOLD OUT
Sat 19 Mar 4.30pm

ARROWTOWN
Thu 17 Mar 6.00pm **
Sun 20 Mar 6.00pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Wed 23 Mar 6.30pm **
Tue 29 Mar 6.15pm
Sat 2 Apr 3.45pm

HAMILTON
Thu 24 Mar 6.15pm **
Sun 27 Mar 5.30pm
Tue 5 April 11.00am
Sat 9 April 4.00pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Wed 30 Mar 6.30pm ** SOLD OUT
Thu 7 April 6.00pm
Sat 9 April 6.15pm

DUNEDIN
Thu 31 Mar 6.15pm **
Sun 3 April 3.30pm
Thu 7 April 4.15pm
Sat 9 April 6.30pm

** Opening Night, special ticket prices apply
E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More titles from the 2016 French Film Festival