Penny Pincher! / Radin!

2017 ARCHIVE

Director: Fred Cavayé
Cast: Dany Boon, Noémie Schmidt, Laurence Arné, Patrick Ridremont
Country: France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2015
Genre: Comedy, Farce
Rating: M Sex scenes & offensive language
Duration: 89 min

“Perfectly fills the function of entertainment.” Direct Matin

Synopsis

Dany Boon stars in this raucous comedy as François Gautier, a talented musician with a fatal flaw – he is a penny pincher! Every aspect of his life is calculated to the last detail to be as inexpensive as possible. Everything changes when an attractive new musician in his orchestra enters the scene. François is further challenged when a daughter he never knew he had comes unexpectedly into his life. Forced to lie to cover up his faults, this is just the start of François’ problems, and his wallet begins to suffer the consequences of his deceit…

Dany Boon, famous for his role in Welcome to the Sticks, France’s biggest box office smash to date, wows audiences once again under Fred Cavayé’s direction, with his hilarious interpretation of the uptight and neurotic François. Noémie Schmidt (The Student and Mr Henri – Festival 2016) plays the naive and trustful daughter with refreshing charm. With riotous humour, and vibrant and hilarious characterisation, Penny Pincher! is highly enjoyable family entertainment.

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sat 4 Mar 4:00 pm D
Tues 7 Mar 2:15 pm D
Sun 12 Mar 10:30 am D
Thurs 16 Mar 6:30 pm E

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 3 Mar 6:30 pm
Tues 7 Mar 2:55 pm
Thurs 16 Mar 10:00 am
Sun 19 Mar 7:45 pm
ENCORE SESSION: Fri 31 Mar 6:00 pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Wed 8 Mar 12:35 pm
Sat 11 Mar 6:20 pm
Tues 21 Mar 10:30 am
ENCORE SESSION: Sat 8 Apr 6:00 pm

NELSON
Fri 10 Mat 11:00 am
Tue 14 Mar 6:00 pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Wed 15 Mar 4:15 pm
Mon 20 Mar 6:35 pm
Sun 26 Mar 2:30 pm
ENCORE SESSION: Sun 9 Apr 3:30 pm

TIMARU
Sun 19 Mar 5:00 pm

ARROWTOWN
Sun 19 Mar 1:00 pm

TAURANGA
Fri 17 Mar 6:15 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Tues 28 Mar 6:10 pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Fri 24 Mar 2:30 pm
Mon 27 Mar 6:15 pm

HAMILTON
Sun 26 Mar 11:05 am
Fri 7 Apr 4:00 pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Thur 30 Mar 11:30 am
Mon 3 Apr 6:15 pm

DUNEDIN
Wed 5 Apr 10:00 am
Sun 9 Apr 3:50 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival