Monsieur Chocolat

2017 ARCHIVE

Director: Roschdy Zem
Cast: Omar Sy, James Thiérrée, Noémie Lvovsky, Clothilde Hesme, Olivier Gourmet
Country: France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2016
Genre: Biopic, Drama
Rating: M Violence & offensive language
Duration: 119 mins
Festivals: CoLCoA French Film Festival Los Angeles 2016, Jeonju International Film Festival 2016
Awards: Académie des César Award for Best Supporting Actor – James Thierrée, Best Set Design

“Superbly performed.” The Hollywood Reporter

Synopsis

From circus to theatre, from anonymity to fame, this film follows the incredible destiny of Chocolat the clown, the first black stage performer in France. This is the singular story of an exceptional artist. The unprecedented duo he forms with Footit is very popular in Belle Époque Paris, until easy money, gambling, and discrimination take their toll on their friendship and Chocolat’s career.

Actor-Director Roschdy Zem is known for being involved in films with historical and societal themes (such as IndigènesDays of Glory). In Monsieur Chocolat – based on a true story – he deftly mixes incredible feats and uplifting moments with thought-provoking themes of racism and the corrupting power of fame.

Omar Sy (Samba – Festival 2015, The Intouchables) and James Thiérrée (grandson of Charlie Chaplin) astonish with powerful and heartbreaking interpretations and jaw-dropping performances – nothing short of magical.

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sat 4 Mar 1:40 pm D
Sun 12 Mar 3:45 pm D
Fri 17 Mar 8:20 pm E
Mon 20 Mar 10:30 am D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sun 5 Mar 5:25 pm
Wed 8 Mar 10:30 am
Wed 15 Mar 1:00 pm
Wed 22 Mar 3:30 pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Fri 3 Mar 7:30 pm  *Special Event: Takapuna Turns French
Sat 11 Mar 2:00 pm
Mon 13 Mar 6:10 pm
Sun 19 Mar 8:30 pm

NELSON
Fri 10 Mar 6:00 pm
Wed 15 Mar 1:00 pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sat 11 Mar 2:00 pm
Sun 19 Mar 8:30 pm
Wed 22 Mar 6:10 pm

TIMARU
Fri 17 Mar 8:30 pm

ARROWTOWN
Fri 17 Mar 8:30 pm
Sun 26 Mar 12:30 pm

TAURANGA
Sat 18 Mar 8:00 pm
Wed 22 Mar 6:00 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Tues 28 Mar 11:00 am
Sat 1 Apr 8:30 pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Fri 24 Mar 6:30 pm
Wed 5 Apr 2:10 pm

HAMILTON
Sun 26 Mar 5:15 pm
Mon 3 Apr 6:10 pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sat 1 Apr 1:40 pm
Wed 5 Apr 11:00 am
Sun 9 Apr 8:25 pm

DUNEDIN
Sun 2 Apr 3:45 pm
Wed 12 Apr 12:00 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival