MON ROI

Director: Maïwenn
Cast: Vincent Cassel, Emmanuelle Bercot, Louis Garrel, Islid Le Besco, Paul Hamy
Country: France, 2015
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Drama
Rating: R16, Sex scenes and nudity
Duration: 128 minutes
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival 2015, Award for Best Actress Emmanuelle Bercot

“Bercot is heartbreaking, and Cassel has never been better, while the supporting cast — especially Louis Garrel as Tony’s brother Solal — raises the game of the two lead actors.”
Peter Debruge, Variety

Synopsis

Following Polisse (Jury Prize – 2011 Cannes International Film Festival), Maïwenn’s latest directorial offering Mon Roi is another honest and powerful story.

At the center of Mon Roi is a passionate and destructive relationship that unfolds over a decade. Tony (the outstanding Emmanuelle Bercot, winner of Best Actress at the 2015 Cannes International Film Festival) is admitted to a rehabilitation center after a serious ski accident. Dependent on the medical staff and pain relief, she takes time to look back on a turbulent relationship that she experienced with Georgio (Vincent Cassel, La Haine, Black Swan).

Why did they love each other? Who was this man that she loved so deeply? How did she allow herself to submit to this suffocating and destructive passion? For Tony, a difficult process of healing awaits her – physical work that might finally set her free.

Mon Roi powerfully explores the damages of love, sometimes leading us to inconsiderate blindness, despite our best efforts to make the right decisions. Bercot and Cassel are absolutely incredible in their respective roles.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Fri 19 Feb 8.45pm D
Thu 3 Mar 6.30pm E
Fri 4 Mar 3.20pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 26 Feb 8.45pm
Wed 9 Mar 6.20pm
Fri 11 Mar 3.30pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Wed 2 Mar 8.50pm
Sun 6 Mar 8.45pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sun 13 Mar 8.45pm
Mon 14 Mar 4.20pm

TIMARU
Sat 19 Mar 8.30pm

NELSON
Mon 14 Mar 1.00pm
Sat 19 Mar 8.30pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Tue 15 Mar 8.30pm

TAURANGA
Fri 18 Mar 8.30pm

ARROWTOWN
Wed 23 Mar 8.30pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sat 2 April 8.30pm

HAMILTON
Fri 8 April 5.45pm
Tue 12 April 11.00am

HAVELOCK NORTH
Tue 5 April 8.30pm

DUNEDIN
Sat 2 April 8.45pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Mon Roi Online

More films from this category of the 2016 French Film Festival