MEMORIES / LES SOUVENIRS

2016 ARCHIVE

Director: Jean-Paul Rouve
Cast: Annie Cordy, Michel Blanc, Mathieu Spinosi, Chantal Lauby, Jean-Paul Rouve
Country: France, Belgium, 2015
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Comedy / Drama
Rating: M, Offensive language and adult themes
Duration: 96 minutes

“We laugh, we cry, we feel a whole range of emotions. A very beautiful cinematic moment.”
TF1 News

Synopsis

Adapted from the novel by David Foenkinos, this touching intergenerational comedy-drama is Jean-Paul Rouve’s (Those Happy Days) fifth feature as director.

Sixty-two-year-old Michel (Michel Blanc, Les Bronzés) has just lost his father and is retiring from a 40-year career working for the French postal service. When his mother Madeleine (Annie Cordy, Crime is our Business) falls and hurts herself in her Paris apartment, Michel and his two brothers decide to take her to a retirement home.

Luckily for Madeleine, her 23-year-old grandson Romain (charming newcomer Mathieu Spinosi) regularly comes to visit her, bringing a bit of joy and insouciance to her gloomy surroundings. One day, Michel receives a call from the home’s manager (Audrey Lamy, also starring in this year’s Festival film Thanks to My Friends): Madeleine has run away. When Romain receives a postcard from his grandmother, he takes to the road to find her.

This warm movie is a gentle reminder that life goes way too fast and that there should be no room for regrets, only memories – especially with our loved ones.

Proudly supported by

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Fri 19 Feb 2.15pm D
Sun 28 Feb 12.10pm D
Thu 3 Mar 1.15pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Mon 29 Feb 4.30pm
Thu 3 Mar 4.15pm
Sat 12 Mar 4.20pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Mon 29 Feb 12.15pm
Fri 11 Mar 12.10pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sun 6 Mar 10.00am
Mon 7 Mar 12.00pm
Fri 18 Mar 12.10pm

TIMARU
Thu 10 Mar 11.00am

NELSON
Fri 18 Mar 11.00am

NEW PLYMOUTH
Thu 10 Mar 2.00pm

TAURANGA
Tue 15 Mar 10.30am

ARROWTOWN
Thu 24 Mar 1.30pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Thu 24 Mar 1.30pm

HAMILTON
Fri 25 Mar 3.40pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Thu 31 Mar 1.30pm

DUNEDIN
Wed 6 April 4.15pm
Sat 9 April 10.00am

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Memories Online