MEDITERRANEA

2016 ARCHIVE

Director: Jonas Carpignano
Cast: Koudous Seihon, Alassane Sy, Jon Coplon
Country: Italy, France, USA, Germany, Qatar, 2015
Language: French, Italian, English, and Arabic with English subtitles
Genre: Drama
Rating: RP 13, Violence and offensive language
Duration: 107 minutes
Festivals: Cannes Critics Week 2015, Official Competition

“A gritty drama that follows two refugees as they travel from Africa to Italy, hoping for a better life. The fly-on-the-wall shooting style and raw performances give it the feel of a documentary, which serves to make this film even more powerful.”
Antonia Prebble

Synopsis

This topical drama is the story of two West African migrants’ journey to Europe.

Ayiva (Koudous Seihon) has left his home in Burkina Faso in search of a way to provide for his sister and his daughter. Taking advantage of his position in an illegal smuggling operation, he arranges to get himself and his best friend Abas (Alassane Sy) off the continent.

Once in Italy, Ayiva begins to adapt to his new life, but when tensions with the local community arise, things become increasingly dangerous. Determined to make his new situation work, Ayiva attempts to weather the storm – but this comes at a cost.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sun 21 Feb 6.30pm D
Fri 26 Feb 1.15pm D
Sat 27 Feb 10.30pm D
Sat 5 Mar 11.00am D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sun 28 Feb 3.00pm
Fri 4 Mar 1.00pm
Mon 7 Mar 6.30pm
Sat 12 Mar 11.55am

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sat 27 Feb 1.45pm
Sun 13 Mar 4.30pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sat 5 Mar 1.45pm
Sun 20 Mar 5.10pm

TIMARU
Wed 16 Mar 7.40pm
Sun 20 Mar 5.20pm

NELSON
Tue 15 Mar 8.30pm
Thu 17 Mar 1.20pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Sun 20 Mar 5.20pm

TAURANGA
Sat 19 Mar 8.30pm

ARROWTOWN
Mon 21 Mar 8.30pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Thu 24 Mar 6.00pm

HAMILTON
Sun 3 April 3.00pm
Thu 7 April 1.30pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sat 9 April 1.15pm

DUNEDIN
Tue 5 April 8.30pm
Fri 8 April 12.00pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Mediterranea Online