MARGUERITE

2016 ARCHIVE

Director: Xavier Giannoli
Cast: Catherine Frot, André Marcon, Michel Fau, Christa Théret, Denis Mpunga
Country: France, Czech Republic, Belgium, 2015
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Drama
Rating: M, Sex scenes, offensive language, nudity and drug use
Duration: 127 minutes
Festivals: Venice International Film Festival 2015, Official Competition

“Xavier Giannoli offers up an amusingly entertaining portrait of fortune, infamy and severe melodic dysfunction in the polished French period dramedy, Marguerite.”
Jordan Mintzer, The Hollywood Reporter

Synopsis

Wealthy Marguerite Dumont (the multi-award-winning Catherine Frot) loves to sing passionately for a seemingly avid crowd of friends and devotees. The only problem is she’s terrible!

Marguerite is kept in the dark about her extreme lack of talent by her husband (André Marcon, Tour de Force – Festival 2014) and butler (Denis Mpunga, Dead Man Talking). However, an unexpected rave review leads her to plan a public recital. How can the charade possibly continue?

As a web of deceit and delusion unfolds, Marguerite’s planned mammoth performance will fascinate, appal, and amuse, often all at once. Based on the notoriously awful vocal career of Florence Foster Jenkins, director Xavier Giannoli has made a delectably sharp and mischievous satire that is a stark contrast to his previous, more serious, exploration of musical performance, The Singer. A merciless dissection of class pretensions, Marguerite was a resounding favourite at this year’s Venice International Film Festival.

Consummately filmed, richly complex, and cringingly hilarious, this is one for all lovers of fine cinema done well, and great music done very badly.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Thu 18 Feb 12.45pm D
Mon 22 Feb 10.30am D
Tue 1 Mar 6.30pm E
Sat 5 Mar 6.30pm E

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Mon 29 Feb 10.45am
Thu 3 Mar 1.45pm
Sun 6 Mar 3.00pm
Sat 12 Mar 6.20pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sat 27 Feb 6.10pm
Wed 2 Mar 11.40am
Wed 9 Mar 8.30pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sat 5 Mar 6.10pm
Wed 9 Mar 11.40am
Wed 16 Mar 8.30pm

TIMARU
Sat 5 Mar 8.30pm
Thu 10 Mar 8.30pm

NELSON
Fri 18 Mar 8.30pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Sat 12 Mar 6.30pm

TAURANGA
Fri 11 Mar 8.30pm

ARROWTOWN
Sat 19 Mar 8.30pm
Fri 25 Mar 11.00am

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sun 27 Mar 7.45pm
Sat 2 April 10.30am

HAMILTON
Fri 25 Mar 5.45pm
Fri 1 April 1.00pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sun 3 April 7.45pm
Fri 8 April 1.15pm

DUNEDIN
Sun 3 April 7.30pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre