MACADAM STORIES / ASPHALTE

Director: Samuel Benchetrit
Cast: Gustave Kervern, Isabelle Huppert, Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi, Michael Pitt, Jules Benchetrit
Country: France, 2015
Language: English and French with English subtitles
Genre: Drama / Comedy
Rating: NZ rating TBC
Duration: 103 minutes
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival 2015, Special Screenings

“A quirky and endearing urban dramedy.”
Variety

Synopsis

Samuel Benchetrit delivers a rather unexpected ode to solidarity with his fifth feature. Selected for the Special Screenings programme at the 2015 Cannes International Film Festival, Macadam Stories presents three portraits of a run-down French housing project’s inhabitants, explored with a gloomy and bewitching palette.

Clinically depressed Sternkowitz (the hilarious Kervern) ends up in a wheelchair after a stationary bike accident. Lost in a hospital corridor, he crosses paths with a beautifully melancholic nurse (Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi) and reimagines himself as a photographer.

Lonely and neglected teenager Charly (Jules Benchetrit) assists his unemployed and adrift neighbour, 80s actress Jeanne Meyer (Isabelle Huppert), in her search for a career-revitalising role.

The quiet and caring Mrs Hamilda finds great company in lost astronaut John McKenzie (Michael Pitt), whose pod has landed on the building’s rooftop.

As we witness these three encounters and the forging of new relationships, we see that the key to a happier society may lie in opening ourselves to our neighbours, nurturing everyday interactions.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Fri 19 Feb 6.25pm D
Fri 26 Feb 3.30pm D
Wed 2 Mar 6.15pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 26 Feb 6.40pm
Fri 4 Mar 3.30pm
Sat 12 Mar 4.15pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Thu 3 Mar 8.45pm
Thu 10 Mar 4.10pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Thu 10 Mar 8.45pm
Thu 17 Mar 4.10pm

TIMARU
Tue 15 Mar 7.30pm

NELSON
Sat 19 Mar 3.30pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Fri 18 Mar 4.20pm

TAURANGA
Mon 14 Mar 8.30pm

ARROWTOWN
Fri 25 Mar 3.30pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Mon 28 Mar 1.10pm

HAMILTON
Wed 6 April 8.30pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Mon 4 April 8.30pm

DUNEDIN
Sun 10 April 3.00pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2016 French Film Festival