LOLO

2016 ARCHIVE

Director: Julie Delpy
Cast: Julie Delpy, Dany Boon, Vincent Lacoste, Karin Viard, Antoine Lounguine
Country: France, 2015
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Comedy
Rating: M, Offensive language, sexual references and nudity
Duration: 99 minutes
Festivals: TIFF 2015, Gala Presentation; Venice International Film Festival 2015, Venice Days

“Delpy gives a true comical dimension to the Oedipus complex, and it is to die for.”
ELLE

Synopsis

Julie Delpy’s latest comedy sees her join forces with audience favourite Dany Boon (Welcome to the Sticks, Superchondriac) and fresh-faced comedian Vincent Lacoste (Hippocrates) for a familial game of cat and mouse.

When 40-something single mother Violette (Delpy) is holidaying in the Basque country with her best friend Ariane (the always politically incorrect Karin Viard), she embarks on a love affair with local IT nerd Jean-René (Dany Boon). Upon returning to her Parisian life as a fashion producer, Violette can’t seem to let go of her southern fling. Luckily, Jean-René has landed a job in the capital and is moving in a few weeks.

What could go wrong with this perfect romance? Just one thing: Violette’s son, Lolo (Vincent Lacoste). Living with his mum and walking around in his bright Y-fronts, Lolo acts like your typical toddler. The problem is that he just turned 19, and he’s still not ready to let go of mum.

Lolo is a great synthesis of writer-director-actress Julie Delpy’s earlier works. There are hints of her 2 Days series which navigated the difficult terrain of two lovers from opposite worlds trying to stay together, while other viewers might catch references to her comedy Skylab, which explored love-hate family relationships.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sun 21 Feb 6.30pm E
Wed 24 Feb 8.30pm D
Fri 4 Mar 6.30pm E Special Event: Soirée Cinéphile

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sun 28 Feb 5.30pm
Fri 4 Mar 8.30pm
Tue 8 Mar 4.15pm
ENCORE SCREENING: Sun 3 Apr, 5.30pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sat 5 Mar 4.20pm
Tue 8 Mar 8.45pm
ENCORE SCREENING: Sun 20 Mar, 4.10pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sat 12 Mar 4.20pm
Tue 15 Mar 8.45pm
Sun 20 Mar 1.30pm

TIMARU
Sun 6 Mar 5.30pm
Mon 14 Mar 5.20pm

NELSON
Fri 11 Mar 6.15pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Fri 18 Mar 6.40pm

TAURANGA
Sat 19 Mar 6.30pm

ARROWTOWN
Fri 18 Mar 6.00pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sun 27 Mar 5.30pm
Thu 31 Mar 1.00pm

HAMILTON
Sat 26 Mar 6.20pm
Fri 1 April 4.00pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Fri 1 April 6.15pm

DUNEDIN
Sat 2 April 6.30pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Lolo Online