LA BELLE SAISON

2016 ARCHIVE

Director: Catherine Corsini
Cast: Cécile de France, Izïa Higelin, Noémie Lvovsky, Kévin Azaïs
Country: France, 2015
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Romance / Drama
Rating: M, Sex scenes, violence, drug use and offensive language
Duration: 105 minutes
Festivals: Locarno International Film Festival 2015, Variety Piazza Grande Award; TIFF 2015, Special Presentation

“Beautifully realised. A luminous, golden-hued period piece.”
Peter Debruge, Variety

Synopsis

The award-winning new film by Catherine Corsini, La Belle Saison is a luminous and evocative romance that powerfully depicts a story of love, duty and the courage required to pursue happiness, no matter the cost.

1971. Delphine (Izïa Higelin), a twenty-something farm girl, takes a huge step by packing up and moving to Paris, searching for a life beyond the responsibilities of her upbringing. It’s not long before she is drawn to the dynamic Carole (an extraordinary Cécile de France), who is actively involved in the emerging women’s rights movement. The two women quickly fall head over heels and become inseparable, but their bliss is interrupted when an emergency forces Delphine back to the farm and mother (Noémie Lvovsky), and Carole follows. There, the couple has to face a far different reality…

Featuring extraordinary production design that indelibly captures both the beauty of the French regions and the vibrant streets of Paris in the 70s, the film invites audiences to bask in the glow of all-consuming passion. With radiant performances and impeccable direction, this is French cinema at its absolute finest.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Mon 22 Feb 6.30pm E
Sun 28 Feb 4.30pm D
Fri 4 Mar 8.35pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Mon 29 Feb 6.10pm
Mon 7 Mar 8.45pm
Wed 9 Mar 2.00pm
Sat 12 Mar 6.30pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Thu 3 Mar 4.20pm
Sun 6 Mar 6.30pm
Wed 9 Mar 6.20pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Thu 10 Mar 4.20pm
Sun 13 Mar 6.30pm
Wed 16 Mar 6.20pm

TIMARU
Wed 16 Mar 5.30pm

NELSON
Tue 15 Mar 6.15pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Sat 12 Mar 4.20pm

TAURANGA
Wed 16 Mar 6.15pm

ARROWTOWN
Tue 22 Mar 3.30pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Mon 28 Mar 8.00pm
Fri 1 April 1.00pm

HAMILTON
Sat 26 Mar 4.00pm
Mon 4 April 11.00am

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sun 3 April 5.30pm
Thu 7 April 10.30am

DUNEDIN
Mon 4 April 6.15pm
Sun 10 April 12.45pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

La Belle Saison Online