Ismael’s Ghosts / Les Fantômes d’Ismaël

 
Violence, offensive language, sex scenes, nudity & content that may disturb

Director: Arnaud Desplechin
Cast: Mathieu Amalric, Marion Cotillard, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Louis Garrel, Alba Rohrwacher, Hippolyte Girardot
Country: France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2017
Genre: Drama, Thriller
Duration: 114 min
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival (Opening Night Film) 2017

“An exceptional work.” Cineuropa

Synopsis

Arnaud Desplechin’s Ismael’s Ghosts introduces the idyllic relationship between Sylvia (Charlotte Gainsbourg) and Ismael (Mathieu Amalric), a widowed filmmaker in the early stages of a new work. Everything changes when Carlotta (Marion Cotillard), Ismael’s missing wife, returns to reclaim the life that she left behind.

The narrative structure of Ismael’s Ghosts pulls the viewer through a variety of time periods, perfectly evoking the disordered nature of human memory and consciousness. The incorporation of the narrative thread from Ismael’s film, a political spy thriller set during the Cold War, further emphasises the blurring of the distinction between reality and fiction, as Silvia and Ismael struggle to adjust to the presence of Carlotta. Intense close-ups throughout viscerally demonstrate the tumultuous experience of each of the three main characters, creating sustained emotional intensity without ever becoming predictable. Ismael’s Ghosts leaves the viewer musing on the true nature of memory and the past, and whether we can ever truly outrun that which lies therein.

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS NEWMARKET
Fri 2 March 10:00 am
Fri 9 March 8:30 pm
Thu 15 March 12:45 pm
Tue 20 March 1:50 pm

AUCKLAND – BERKELEY CINEMAS TAKAPUNA
Sat 3 March 3:30 pm
Thu 8 March 10:30 am
Tue 13 March 8:15 pm

CHRISTCHURCH – HOYTS RICCARTON
Wed 7 March 10:30 am
Mon 12 March 1:30 pm
Wed 21 March 8:35 pm

WELLINGTON – EMBASSY THEATRE
Thu 8 March 2:00 pm D
Thu 15 March 8:40 pm D
Tue 20 March 10:30 am D
Wed 28 March 10:30 am D

NEW PLYMOUTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Fri 16 March 4:00 pm

NELSON – SUTER THEATRE
Thu 15 March 3:30 pm
Tue 20 March 8:20 pm

TIMARU – MOVIE MAX DIGITAL
Thu 22 March 5:00 pm

TAURANGA – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sat 17 March 6:00 pm
Fri 23 March 11:00 am

HAVELOCK NORTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Sat 24 March 1:30 pm
Thu 29 March 8:15 pm

DUNEDIN – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 30 March 4:00 pm
Wed 4 April 10:00 am

HAMILTON – LIDO CINEMA
Tue 27 March 8:30 pm
Wed 4 April 11:00 am

ARROWTOWN – DOROTHY BROWNS
Tue 10 April 8:15 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Wed 11 April 8:10 pm
Wed 18 April 1:15 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2018 French Film Festival