In the Shadow of Women / L’ombre des femmes

Director: Philippe Garrel
Cast: Stanislas Merhar, Clotilde Courau, Lena Paugam, Vimala Pons
Country: France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2015
Genre: Drama
Rating: M Offensive language
Duration: 73 min
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival 2015, Directors’ Fortnight

“An exquisite three-hander about life, art and the delusional male ego.” Variety

Synopsis

Pierre, a documentary filmmaker, works in partnership with his wife, Manon. They make films without a cent, but at least have each other. Pierre encounters Elisabeth, a beautiful intern at the film archive where he’s doing research on his latest documentary, a portrait of an elderly French resistance fighter. They begin a blissful affair. But gradually that initial euphoria yields for Pierre to a sense of being trapped in not just one relationship but two. When he learns that his wife is also having an affair, Pierre turns his attention back to her.

Philippe Garrel started his career in the late 1960s at the end of the New Wave, but shares with it the themes of analysis of personal and professional intimacies in the lives of bohemian characters that resemble himself. As in many of his other films, In the Shadow of Women mixes life, politics, and art, and analyses the relationship between the sexes.

The third-person narration (told by son Louis Garrel) adds a level of distance and humorous self-analysis to the self- absorption of the male ego. The film also offers nuanced and accurate portraits of independent women.

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Wed 8 Mar 2:30 pm D
Tues 14 Mar 8:35 pm D
Sun 19 Mar 10:30 am D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 3 Mar 10:00 am
Fri 10 Mar 6:55 pm
Fri 17 Mar 2:15 pm
Wed 22 Mar 6:00 pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Mon 6 Mar 11:00 am
Tues 14 Mar 8:30 pm
Mon 20 Mar 12:35 pm

NELSON
Mon 13 Mar 1:30 pm
Thurs 16 Mar 11:00 am

CHRISTCHURCH
We 15 Mar 10:30 am
Fri 24 Mar 4:25 pm

ARROWTOWN
Fri 17 Mar 11:00 am

TAURANGA
Sun 26 Mar 1:00 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Wed 29 Mar 1:30 pm
Sun 2 Apr 4:20 pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Sat 1 Apr 10:30 am

HAMILTON
Sat 25 Mar 2:15 pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Tues 4 Apr 11:30 am
Wed 12 Apr 4:50 pm

DUNEDIN
Thurs 6 Apr 10:30 am
Wed 12 Apr 8:45 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival