GEMMA BOVERY

2015 ARCHIVE

Director: Anne Fontaine
Cast: Gemma Arterton, Fabrice Luchini, Isabelle Candelier, Jason Flemyng
Country: France, UK
Year: 2014
Genre: Comedy / Drama
Duration: 99 minutes
Rating: M – violence, offensive language and sex scenes

“A breezy and enjoyable modern-day take on Flaubert’s classic story (…) that replaces the book’s darker passages for tongue-in-cheek laughs and plenty of eye candy.”

Hollywood Reporter

Synopsis

From the director of Coco Before Chanel comes an original and breezy film based on the graphic novel by Posy Simmonds (Tamara Drewe) and inspired by Gustave Flaubert’s classic read, Madame Bovary. The film unites French acting legend Fabrice Luchini with English “It-Girl” Gemma Arterton.

Fifty-something Martin Joubert is a baker who has recently left Paris and moved to a small town in Normandy with his wife and teenage son, in search of a better lifestyle. One day, Martin sees a young English couple move in next door. Not only are the names of the new arrivals Gemma and Charles Bovery, but their behavior also seems to be awfully close to Flaubert’s heroes.

Martin rapidly takes an interest in the passionate Gemma, a true English rose, and falls quickly under her spell. However, Gemma has other ideas and it is not long before her eyes start to wander too, but perhaps not in the direction Martin would have liked…

Centred around Luchini and Arterton’s performances, Gemma Bovery is a delightful modern-day take on Flaubert’s masterpiece, filled with hilarious one-liners in French, English and Franglais.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

To buy tickets, click the screening time in your city to go straight to the cinema’s website.
Note that in Hamilton and Arrowtown tickets are not online and are only available from cinemas.


AUCKLAND – RIALTO
Fri 27 Feb 8:30 PM
Tue 3 Mar 6:30 PM
Sun 8 Mar 5:30 PM

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Fri 20 Feb 7:30 PM Special Event: Takapuna Takes Flight
Sun 22 Feb 6:30 PM
Wed 25 Feb 10:30 AM

CHRISTCHURCH
Sun 8 Mar 6:30 PM Special Event: Let Them Eat Cake!
Fri 13 Mar 2:00 PM
Sat 14 Mar 8:30 PM

NELSON
Fri 6 Mar 8:30 PM
Wed 11 Mar 8:30 PM

TIMARU
Sat 7 Mar 6:20 PM
Tue 10 Mar 5:20 PM

WELLINGTON
Fri 20 Mar 6:30 PM E Special Event: Soirée Cinéphile
Tue 24 Mar 8:30 PM E
Fri 27 Mar 11:30 AM D

TAURANGA
Fri 13 Mar 6:30 PM
Fri 20 Mar 12:30 PM

DUNEDIN
Sat 21 Mar 6:45 PM
Fri 27 Mar 2:30 PM

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sat 21 Mar 6:30 PM
Tue 24 Mar 10:30 AM

ARROWTOWN
Fri 27 Mar 6:30 PM
Tue 31 Mar 1:00 AM

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sat 11 Apr 6:30 PM
Fri 17 Apr 10:30 AM

HAMILTON
Fri 10 Apr 6:15 PM
Sat 18 Apr 4:00 PM

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Gemma Bovery Online