Friends From France / Les Interdits

2014 ARCHIVE

Director: Anne Weil and Philippe Kotlarski
Cast: Soko, Jérémie Lippmann, Vladimir Fridman, Ania Bukstein
Country: France / Canada / Germany / Russia, 2013
Genre: Drama / Thriller
Duration: 92 minutes
Rating: TBC

Anne Weil and Philippe Kotlarski make their directorial debut with the powerful political thriller Friends From France. 

Set in the USSR in 1979, the film follows young engaged couple Carole (Stéphanie Sokolinski a.k.a Soko) and Jérôme (Jérémie Lippman) on a vacation to Odessa. Or at least that is their cover story…

They are actually Jewish cousins, on a secret mission to help ‘refuseniks’, Jews persecuted by the Soviet regime for wanting to leave the country. Together they explore the dangerous world of Brezhnev’s Russia, filled with dark undercurrents – a place where it’s dangerous to trust anyone.

Offering a window into a troubling and overlooked place and time, Friends From France also develops into a love story that takes a detour into unexpected territory. The film’s compelling balancing act between the political and the personal is reminiscent of works by Jane Campion and Andrea Arnold, and is a tense examination of risk and obsession.

Screening Times

CHRISTCHURCH

Mon 24 Feb 8:30 PM

Fri 28 Feb 2:30 PM

AUCKLAND – RIALTO

Mon 3 Mar 12:30 PM

Wed 5 Mar 8:30 PM

Fri 7 Mar 12:30 PM

Mon 10 Mar 8:30 PM

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA

Mon 3 Mar 8:30 PM

NELSON

Fri 7 Mar 4:30 PM

Mon 10 Mar 8:30 PM

WELLINGTON

Mon 24 Mar 2:00 PM D

Fri 28 Mar 8:30 PM D

Mon 31 Mar 8:30 PM D

DUNEDIN

Wed 26 Mar 8:30 PM

HAVELOCK NORTH

Wed 2 Apr 8:30 PM

PALMERSTON NORTH

Mon 7 Apr 8:30 PM

HAMILTON

Wed 16 Apr 8:30 PM

Thu 17 Apr 11:30 AM

E EMBASSY THEATRE

D DELUXE THEATRE

Trailer