Fanny’s Journey / Le voyage de Fanny

Recommended ages: 10+

Director: Lola Doillon
Cast: Léonie Souchaud, Fantine Hardouin, Juliane Lepoureau, Ryan Brodie, Cécile de France
Country: France, Belgium
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production 2016
Genre: Adventure, Children’s Film
Rating: PG Violence, coarse language, some scenes may disturb
Duration: 95 min
Festivals: Munich International Film Festival 2016, BFI London Film Festival 2016

“A handsome, compelling period piece that deftly portrays events through the eyes of its young protagonists.” Variety

Synopsis

Fanny, only 12 years old is tough. But, most of all, she is a courageous young girl who, hidden in a home far from her parents, must take care of her two younger sisters. Forced to flee in a rush, Fanny becomes the head of a group of eight children and sets out on a dangerous mission across occupied France towards the Swiss border.

Between fear, outbursts of laughter, and unexpected encounters, the small group learns about independence and discovers friendship and solidarity.

Told from the perspective of children, Fanny’s Journey breaches the difficult subject of the persecution of Jews during World War Two in occupied France. Inspired by a true story, the film reflects the cruel reality of that time, but tells an exceptional tale of bravery, strength and survival. The non-professional child actors convincingly convey the power of childhood beliefs and their joy of life, which makes this film a compelling story of friendship.

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sat 4 Mar 10:30 am D
Thurs 9 Mar 10:30 am D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sun 5 Mar 11:05 am
Sun 19 Mar 10:45 am

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sun 12 Mar 10:30 am
Wed 22 Mar 10:30 am

NELSON
Sun 12 Mar 1:15 pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Fri 10 Mar 10:30 am
Sun 19 Mar 11:30 am

TIMARU
Sat 11 Mar 11:00 am

ARROWTOWN
Sun 19 Mar 11:00 am

TAURANGA
Sat 18 Mar 11:15 am

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sat 25 Mar 10:30 am

NEW PLYMOUTH
Sun 26 Mar 10:30 am

HAMILTON
Mon 3 Apr 11:00 am

HAVELOCK NORTH
Fri 31 Mar 11:00 am
Sun 9 Apr 10:30 am

DUNEDIN
Sat 8 Apr 12:05 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival