EDEN

2015 ARCHIVE

Director: Mia Hansen-Løve
Cast: Félix De Givry, Pauline Etienne, Vincent Macaigne, Greta Gerwig
Country: France
Year: 2014
Genre: Drama
Duration: 131 minutes
Rating: R16 – drug use, sex scenes and offensive language

“Similarly sensitive (to the Coen Brothers’ Inside Llewyn Davis) in its evocation of the fleeting joys and simmering disappointments of the artistic life, and just as impeccable in its presentation of music.”

Variety Magazine 

Synopsis

The exhilarating new film from Mia Hansen-Løve (Father of My Children, Goodbye First Love) is a semi-biographical drama about the rise of the ‘French touch’ electronic music scene in the 1990s, one that spawned worldwide superstars like Daft Punk and Cassius.

With a narrative spanning two decades, Eden revolves around aspiring Parisian DJ Paul (the captivating Félix de Givry) as he steps into the underground dance music scene. Raves dominate, but he’s drawn to the more soulful rhythms of Chicago’s garage house movement. He and best friend Stan form a duo and drop out of daytime society in their all-encompassing pursuit of ceaseless beats and bass, emotional and pharmaceutical highs, and a string of relationships (with excellent support here from Greta Gerwig, Laura Smet and Pauline Etienne).

Inspired by the experiences of her brother and collaborator Sven, Hansen-Løve’s film is a spectacular panorama of beautiful faces and bodies, rushes of cascading light and colour and, of course, music. Shifting between euphoria and melancholy, Eden is a film that pulsates with the reckless heartbeat of youth.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

To buy tickets, click the screening time in your city to go straight to the cinema’s website.
Note that in Hamilton and Arrowtown tickets are not online and are only available from cinemas. 


AUCKLAND – RIALTO
Sat 21 Feb 8:30 PM
Wed 25 Feb 8:30 PM

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sat 28 Feb 4:00 PM
Tue 3 Mar 10:30 AM
Sun 8 Mar 2:00 PM

CHRISTCHURCH
Thu 5 Mar 2:00 PM
Sun 8 Mar 1:30 PM
Wed 11 Mar 1:45 PM
Fri 13 Mar 8:30 PM

NELSON
Sun 15 Mar 3:10 PM

TIMARU
Tue 10 Mar 7:30 PM

WELLINGTON
Sun 22 Mar 11:30 AM D
Sat 28 Mar 8:30 PM E

TAURANGA
Sun 15 Mar 3:00 PM

DUNEDIN
Sun 22 Mar 3:00 PM

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sat 21 Mar 2:00 PM

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sun 12 Apr 3:00 PM

HAMILTON
Wed 15 Apr 11:15 AM
Mon 20 Apr 5:45 PM

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Eden Online