Double Lover / L’Amant double


Violence, sexual violence, sex scenes & content that may disturb

Director: François Ozon
Cast: Marine Vacth, Jérémie Renier, Jacqueline Bisset, Dominique Reymond
Country: France, Belgium
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2017
Genre: Psychological erotic thriller
Duration: 107 min
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival (Competition) 2017

“A deliciously twisted erotic thriller.” Variety

Synopsis

Loosely based on a novel by Joyce Carol Oates, Double Lover follows the story of Chloe, an emotionally delicate former model who turns to therapy to try to stabilise her life. Enthralled at once by the enigmatic psychoanalyst Paul, her perfect romance is soon disrupted when Chloe finds out that her lover seems to have a double identity, which leads to a shocking discovery.

The novel Lives of the Twins provided the base for the interaction between Chloe and the ‘Jekyll and Hyde’ characters displayed in a thrilling performance by Jérémie Renier. François Ozon deftly maintains a balance between the tension and rich physicality and eroticism, supplemented by a magnificent score by Philippe Rombi.
Audiences who mainly associate Ozon’s career with more accessible films such as 8 Women and Frantz, might find Double Lover confronting in its explicit nudity, drastic edits and the continuous play with appearances. The film however fits perfectly into Ozon’s oeuvre as a whole, connecting back to the director’s earliest films such as See the Sea (1997) referred to at the time as ‘shocking’ and ‘provocative’. Once again Ozon delivers a visually impressive film — full of cinematic cross-references — that plays with appearance versus reality in a multiplicity of mediums. The viewers are left questioning both their own senses and those of Chloe as the suspense builds, and the effect of the final compelling scene lingers long after the credits have rolled.

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS NEWMARKET
Mon 5 March 10:00 am
Sun 11 March 8:00 pm
Wed 14 March 2:15 pm
Mon 19 March 8:30 pm

AUCKLAND – BERKELEY CINEMAS TAKAPUNA
Sat 3 March 8:15 pm
Wed 7 March 10:30 am
Tue 13 March 12:50 pm

CHRISTCHURCH – HOYTS RICCARTON
Wed 7 March 8:30 pm
Thu 15 March 8:40 pm

WELLINGTON – EMBASSY THEATRE
Fri 9 March 8:00 pm D
Wed 14 March 8:25 pm D
Mon 19 March 1:45 pm D
Thu 22 March 3:50 pm D

NEW PLYMOUTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Thu 15 March 8:15 pm

NELSON – SUTER THEATRE
Fri 16 March 8:15 pm
Tue 27 March 1:25 pm

TIMARU – MOVIE MAX DIGITAL
Mon 19 March 5:20 pm

TAURANGA – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sun 18 March 8:15 pm

HAVELOCK NORTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Tue 27 March 8:20 pm
Mon 2 April 8:20 pm

DUNEDIN – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sat 24 March 8:15 pm
Wed 28 March 12:05 pm

HAMILTON – LIDO CINEMA
Mon 26 March 8:30 pm
Fri 6 April 11:00 am

ARROWTOWN – DOROTHY BROWNS
Fri 13 April 8:15 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Fri 6 April 8:20 pm
Mon 16 April 1:15 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2018 French Film Festival