DHEEPAN

2016 ARCHIVE

Director: Jacques Audiard
Cast: Antonythasan Jesuthasan, Kalieaswari Srinivasan, Claudine Vinasithamby, Vincent Rottiers, Joséphine de Meaux
Country: France, 2015
Language: Tamil and French with English subtitles
Genre: Drama
Rating: R16, Violence, offensive language and content that may disturb
Duration: 114 minutes
Festivals: Cannes International Film Festival 2015, Palme d’Or; TIFF 2015, Special Presentation

“A nervous and generous film that is much more than a simple social chronicle.”
Le Point

Synopsis

Winner of the Palme d’Or at the 2015 Cannes International Film Festival, Dheepan is an essential film to watch within the context of today’s geopolitics.

Dheepan is a Sri Lankan Tamil fighter, a Tiger, who decides to flee his country as the civil war draws to an end. In a refugee camp, he finds a woman and a little girl, both of whom he does not know, to seek political asylum in Europe as a family.

Once in the French capital, the newly formed “family” struggles, moving from one shelter to another until Dheepan gets a caretaker’s job in a housing project on the outskirts of the city.

Dheepan is determined to create a peaceful home for his family. However, the violence of the projects, the absence of police, and the reign of local gangsters soon reopens the wounds of war.

The soldier within the caretaker will need to resurface in order to protect those he hopes will become his real family.

Antonythasan Jesuthasan is breathtaking as Dheepan, a man who only seeks peace and security in a hostile environment.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sat 20 Feb 6.15pm, 11.10pm (extra session)  D
Tue 23 Feb 3.00pm D
Fri 26 Feb 6.30pm SOLD OUT, 9.00pm (extra session) D
ENCORE SCREENING: Tue 8 Mar 6.45pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sat 27 Feb 6.10pm
Tue 1 Mar 4.15pm
Fri 4 Mar 6.30pm
Thu 10 Mar 10.00am

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sat 5 Mar 8.45pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sat 12 Mar 8.30pm
Tue 15 Mar 10.10am

TIMARU
Sun 13 Mar 7.40pm

NELSON
Sun 13 Mar 7.45pm
Fri 18 Mar 1.15pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Thu 17 Mar 8.30pm

TAURANGA
Tue 15 Mar 8.30pm

ARROWTOWN
Tue 22 Mar 6.00pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Thu 31 Mar 8.30pm

HAMILTON
Sun 27 Mar 7.30pm
Wed 30 Mar 11.00am

HAVELOCK NORTH
Fri 8 April 8.30pm

DUNEDIN
Fri 1 April 8.45pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Dheepan Online