COURTED / L’HERMINE

2016 ARCHIVE

Director: Christian Vincent
Cast: Fabrice Luchini, Sidse Babett Knudsen, Chloé Berthier
Country: France, 2015
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Drama / Romance
Rating: M, Adult themes
Duration: 98 minutes
Festivals: Venice International Film Festival 2015, Award for Best Screenplay, Volpi Cup for Best Actor Fabrice Luchini

“This film follows the proceedings of a three day criminal trial, but it is more of a character study than a courtroom drama. It is straightforward in terms of plot and rhythm, but rich in terms of relationships as the characters are all both well drawn and beautifully acted. A simple yet very satisfying film.”
Antonia Prebble

Synopsis

Winner of the Best Actor and Best Screenplay awards at the 2015 Venice International Film Festival, Christian Vincent’s judicial drama stars Fabrice Luchini (Festival favourites Gemma Bovery, Cycling With Molière) as a fastidious judge presiding over the Assize Court.

Known as the “two-figure” judge, Michel Racine rules his courtroom with an iron fist. With few colleagues or outside acquaintances to call friends, Michel’s life in and outside court is equally sombre.

While overseeing a particularly brutal murder case, Michel battles both the flu and a heady distraction in the form of juror Ditte (Sidse Babett Knudsen, who rose to fame thanks to her role in the successful Danish series Borgen). Maintaining the utmost order during the heartbreaking trial, Michel must also resolve his intimate history with the beautiful Ditte.

Confronting issues of class conflict, racial tensions, and religious divisions, Courted delivers brilliant dramatic performances from its cast.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Fri 19 Feb 6.15pm E
Wed 24 Feb 3.00pm D
Sun 28 Feb 6.15pm E
Mon 29 Feb 1.00pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 26 Feb 6.30pm
Wed 2 Mar 3.45pm
Mon 7 Mar 1.55pm
Fri 11 Mar 4.10pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sun 28 Feb 2.15pm
Thu 3 Mar 6.30pm
Fri 11 Mar 6.15pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sun 6 Mar 2.15pm
Thu 10 Mar 6.30pm
Fri 18 Mar 6.15pm

TIMARU
Sun 6 Mar 7.40pm
Wed 9 Mar 5.20pm

NELSON
Sat 12 Mar 6.10pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Sun 13 Mar 6.30pm

TAURANGA
Sun 13 Mar 5.15pm

ARROWTOWN
Fri 25 Mar 6.00pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sat 2 April 6.00pm

HAMILTON
Mon 28 Mar 11.00am
Fri 1 April 6.10pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Fri 1 April 8.30pm
Tue 5 April 11.00am

DUNEDIN
Mon 4 April 4.00pm
Fri 8 April 6.30pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre