CHIC!

2016 ARCHIVE

Director: Jérôme Cornuau
Cast: Fanny Ardant, Marina Hands, Éric Elmosnino, Laurent Stocker, Catherine Hosmalin
Country: France, 2015
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Romance / Comedy
Rating: M, Offensive language
Duration: 109 minutes
Festivals: CoLCoa, Official Selection

Chic! takes on the Paris fashion world with heart, humor and style.”
LA Times

Synopsis

The legendary Fanny Ardant (Bright Days Ahead – Festival 2014) is back to grace New Zealand screens as Alicia Ricosi, a diva fashion designer in crisis.

When her love interest heads for the hills, Alicia is left with no inspiration to finish her collection, leaving the future of her business in jeopardy. Hélène (Marina Hands), Alicia’s uptight and career-driven assistant, must find a way to get her back to work.

On her mission to find Alicia a new muse, Hélène settles on none other than her own grumpy, salt of the earth gardener Julien (Éric Elmosnino, The Bélier Family – Festival 2015). Under pressure from boiling CEO Alan (a wonderful performance by Laurent Stocker), Hélène will have to use every possible argument to convince Julien to take the job.

The colourful characters propel each other outside of their respective comfort zones, only to eventually find love where they least expect it.
From the City of Lights to Brittany, in gorgeous gardens and at stunning photo shoots, this romantic comedy is a spot-on depiction of an artist-muse relationship.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Thu 18 Feb 3.30pm D
Mon 29 Feb 8.30pm, 9.00pm (extra session) D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 26 Feb 2.15pm
Mon 7 Mar 4.15pm
Wed 9 Mar 6.15pm Special Event: Ladies Film Night
ENCORE SCREENING: Fri 1 Apr, 6.15pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Tue 1 Mar 4.15pm
Thu 10 Mar 6.30pm
ENCORE SCREENING: Sat 19 Mar, 4.10pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Tue 8 Mar 4.15pm
Thu 17 Mar 6.30pm

TIMARU
Mon 7 Mar 5.20pm

NELSON
Thu 17 Mar 3.40pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Fri 18 Mar 2.00pm

TAURANGA
Wed 16 Mar 10.30am

ARROWTOWN
Mon 21 Mar 11.00am

PALMERSTON NORTH
Thu 31 Mar 6.00pm

HAMILTON
Mon 4 April 6.15pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sun 10 April 10.30am

DUNEDIN
Mon 4 April 1.45pm
Fri 8 April 2.15pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Chic! Online