BREATHE / RESPIRE

2015 ARCHIVE

Director: Mélanie Laurent
Cast: Lou de Laâge, Joséphine Japy,
Isabelle Carré, Claire Keim
Country: France
Year: 2014
Genre: Drama
Duration: 91 minutes
Rating: M – violence, offensive language, drug use, nudity & sexual references

“A film of real directorial confidence & flair. Beautifully shot, radiantly acted and artistically made.”

Indiewire

Synopsis

Acclaimed actress Mélanie Laurent takes the director’s chair for this emotionally seductive and hugely affecting drama about an adolescent friendship perched on the brink of obsession.

When Charlie (Joséphine Japy) − an attractive but self-doubting 17-year-old − meets the charismatic, forthright and unruly Sarah (star on the rise Lou de Laâge), they immediately form an intense and thrilling bond. Sarah offers both companionship and support for Charlie at a time when she desperately needs it, while her unstable mother (the superb Isabelle Carré) copes badly with her impending divorce. But their inseparable, idyllic existence soon steers into dangerous territory…

Skilfully adapted from the controversial, best-selling novel by Anne-Sophie Brasme, Laurent’s gorgeously shot, highly refined thriller delves into the deep and dark connections that make youthful relationships so quixotic and powerful. The stellar performances of her actors – completely submerged under the skin of their characters – deliver extraordinary impact as the film builds to its breathtaking dénouement. A break-out success at both the Cannes and Toronto Film Festivals, Breathe confirms Laurent as a major new directorial talent.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

To buy tickets, click the screening time in your city to go straight to the cinema’s website.
Note that in Hamilton and Arrowtown tickets are not online and are only available from cinemas.


AUCKLAND – RIALTO
Sun 22 Feb 12:15 PM
Thu 26 Feb 8:45 PM
Fri 27 Feb 10:30 AM

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Thu 5 Mar 8:30 PM
Sun 8 Mar 11:30 AM

CHRISTCHURCH
Sat 28 Feb 2:30 PM
Tue 3 Mar 2:30 PM
Sun 8 Mar 8:45 PM

NELSON
Wed 11 Mar 1:30 PM
Sat 14 Mar 4:15 PM

TIMARU
Mon 9 Mar 7:30 PM

WELLINGTON
Fri 13 Mar 8:30 PM E
Sat 28 Mar 2:30 PM D

TAURANGA
Sat 14 Mar 4:15 PM

DUNEDIN
Tue 24 Mar 6:30 PM

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sun 29 Mar 5:30 PM

PALMERSTON NORTH
Tue 14 Apr 6:30 PM

HAMILTON
Mon 13 Apr 6:15 PM
Thu 23 Apr 11:15 AM

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Breathe Online