Blackboard / Tableau Noir

2014 ARCHIVE

Director: Yves Yersin
Cast: Gilbert Hirschi and the students of Derrière-Pertuis school
Country: Switzerland, 2012
Genre: Documentary
Duration: 117 minutes
Rating: Exempt

Renowned Swiss cinema legend, Yves Yersin, returns to the international cinema scene after 34 years absence with the beautiful film Blackboard.

The inter-municipal school of Derrière-Pertuis is on a ridge of the Jura mountain range bordering Val-de-Ruz in the canton of Neuchâtel. Located at an altitude of over 1000 metres, in a hamlet where there are only five houses, it is in the centre of a region its inhabitants call ‘The Mountain’. In this enduring landscape, Yersin and his crew chronicle the life of its local school during one year. Blackboard focuses on the pupils – aged between 6 and 12 – who share the same class, along with their successes and failures.

Their teacher, Gilbert Hirschi, has been teaching at the school for 41 years – or three generations. His teaching style combines theory with interactive learning. The young children study everything from the Napoleonic Wars to the concept of hydraulic engineering to traditional Swiss cheese-making methods.

Blackboard is a charming portrait of the power of education and a child’s thirst for learning. But just around the corner from all the happiness and smiles, lies something that will ultimately jeopardize the future of the school… 

Screening Times

CHRISTCHURCH

Sun 23 Feb 11:00 AM

AUCKLAND – RIALTO

Sun 2 Mar 11:00 AM

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA

Sun 9 Mar 4:00 PM

Sat 15 Mar 4:15 PM

NELSON

Sun 16 Mar 11:00 AM

WELLINGTON

Tue 25 Mar 6:30 PM E *

Fri 4 Apr 2:00 PM D

DUNEDIN

Sat 22 Mar 6:00 PM

HAVELOCK NORTH

Fri 28 Mar 6:15 PM

HAMILTON

Sat 12 Apr 3:30 PM

E EMBASSY THEATRE

D DELUXE THEATRE

* SPECIAL EVENT – A Taste of Switzerland