APRIL AND THE EXTRAORDINARY WORLD
 AVRIL ET LE MONDE TRUQUÉ

2016 ARCHIVE

Directors: Franck Ekinchi, Christian Desmares
With the voices of: Marion Cotillard, Philippe Katerine, Jean Rochefort, Olivier Gourmet, Bouli Lanners
Country: France, Canada, Belgium, 2015
Language: French with English subtitles
Genre: Animation
Rating: PG, Fantasy violence
Duration: 105 minutes
Festivals: Annecy Animation International Film Festival, Cristal for a feature film

“The film (…) is the rare toon that leaves kids inspired not to buy toys, but to make the world a better place”
Variety

Synopsis

Paris, 1941. Napoleon V rules France where, like the rest of the world, all the great scientists have mysteriously disappeared. Imagine an alternative world where, for the last 70 years, humanity has missed out on crucial inventions such as radio, television, electricity, the gas engine, and aviation. In a world that relies on coal and steam, the last remaining tree is kept at Le Grand Palais in Paris.

April (the terrific Marion Cotillard) is the daughter of two missing scientists. Together with her talking cat Darwin (Philippe Katerine), she endeavours to continue her parents’ research, in secret.

The pair, with the help of young rascal Julius (Marc-André Grondin) and Pops (Jean Rochefort), embark on a quest to find those responsible for these disappearances.

Drawn by acclaimed French cartoonist Tardi, this jewel of animation and scriptwriting well-deservedly won the top prize for a feature film at the 2015 Annecy International Animated Film Festival.

Trailer

Screenings/Buy Tickets

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sat 20 Feb 11.30am D
Thu 25 Feb 6.15pm D
Wed 2 Mar 10.30am D
Fri 4 Mar 10.45pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sat 27 Feb 12.00pm
Wed 2 Mar 11.00am
Sun 6 Mar 3.30pm
Tue 8 Mar 6.30pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sun 28 Feb 12.00pm
Tue 1 Mar 2.00pm
Thu 10 Mar 2.00pm
Sun 13 Mar 2.15pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sun 6 Mar 12.00pm
Tue 8 Mar 2.00pm
Thu 17 Mar 2.00pm
Sun 20 Mar 3.45pm

TIMARU
Tue 8 Mar 12.00pm
Sun 20 Mar 12.00pm

NELSON
Fri 11 Mar 11.00am
Wed 16 Mar 4.00pm
Sun 20 Mar 12.45pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Sat 19 Mar 10.30am

TAURANGA
Sat 12 Mar 12.00pm

ARROWTOWN
Sun 27 Mar 11.00am

PALMERSTON NORTH
Fri 25 Mar 11.00am
Sat 2 April 1.15pm

HAMILTON
Fri 25 Mar 11.00am
Mon 11 April 4.00pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Sun 3 April 3.15pm

DUNEDIN
Fri 1 April 10.00am
Thu 7 April 12.00pm
Sat 9 April 2.15pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre