A Kid / Le fils de Jean

2017 ARCHIVE

Director: Philippe Lioret
Cast: Pierre Deladonchamps, Gabriel Arcand, Marie-Thérèse Fortin, Catherine De Léan, Pierre-Yves Cardinal, Patrick Hivon
Country: France, Canada
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2016
Genre: Drama
Rating: M Violence & offensive language
Duration: 98 min
Festivals: Hof International Film Festival 2016

“An intimate film about family and the quest for identity.” Femme Actuelle

Synopsis

One morning, 33 year-old Mathieu (Pierre Deladonchamps, also in Eternity) receives a phone call and discovers that his biological father was Canadian and has just died. He also learns that he has two brothers. Mathieu drops everything and leaves Paris in hope of reuniting with a part of his unknown family. But upon his arrival in Montréal, nothing goes as expected and Mathieu finds himself in hostile territory. His father’s best friend Pierre (popular Québéc actor Gabriel Arcand) made a promise to keep his existence a secret. Will Mathieu finally get to meet his brothers and find out about his origins?

Philippe Lioret (Welcome) is known for quiet but subtle dramas – every look matters as does every silence. In A Kid, it is the silent but grand Canadian landscapes that act as a dramatic backdrop for this man’s search for his identity.

Proudly presented by

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Sun 5 Mar 4:20 pm D
Sat 18 Mar 6:00 pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sat 11 Mar 4:00 pm

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sun 19 Mar 4:15 pm

NELSON
Wed 15 Mar 6:00 pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Sat 11 Mar 4:20 pm
Sun 19 Mar 6:25 pm

TIMARU
Thur 16 Mar 5:20 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sat 1 Apr 4:05 pm

NEW PLYMOUTH
Sun 2 Apr 4:00 pm

HAMILTON
Sat 8 Apr 4:00 pm

DUNEDIN
Tues 11 Apr 6:30 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

Le fils de Jean Online

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival