9 The Movie / 9 le film

 Offensive language & sexual references

Directors: Stéphane E. Roy, Luc Picard, Ricardo Trogi, Jean-Philippe Duval, Micheline Lanctôt, Érik Canuel, Claude Brie, Marc Labrèche, Éric Tessier
Cast: Stéphane E. Roy, Marc Labrèche, François Papineau, Bénédicte Décary, Pierre-François Legendre, Hélène Bourgeois-Leclerc, Anne-Marie Cadieux, Christian Bégin, Magalie Lépine-Blondeau, Nicolas Canuel, Maxim Gaudette, Sylvain Marcel, Marianne Farley, Marie-Ginette Guay, Noémie Godin-Vigneau, Diane Lavallée, Alexis Martin, Anne-Élisabeth Bossé
Country: Canada (Québec)
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2016
Genre: Comedy
Duration: 98 min

9 le film turns out to be a symphony without a false note.” — Canoe.ca

Synopsis

They come in nines: nine situations, nine slices of life occasionally intersecting, nine views on the modern ills of loneliness and isolation. Seeking the advice of “Communic-Action” specialist Marc Gélinas, our nine heroes search for a way to dispel their inner void. But when the expert is forced to put his theory into practice after accidentally meeting the love of his life, he is found questioning his own methods.

Inspired by director/actor Stéphane E. Roy’s play, Neuf variations sur le vide, nine French Canadian directors come together to create a thought-provoking set of scenarios illuminating the issues with isolation and incommunicability in our modern world. This Québécois sketch comedy showcases the different artistic hand of each director and will take you through stories that will make you laugh as well as think about your relationships with the people around you.

Proudly sponsored by

Trailer

French Trailer (no subtitles)

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS NEWMARKET
Tue 6 March 2:20 pm
Fri 16 March 1:15 pm
Tue 20 March 10:00 am

AUCKLAND – BERKELEY CINEMAS TAKAPUNA
Thu 8 March 12:50 pm
Sat 17 March 8:15 pm  SPECIAL EVENT: Soirée Francophonie

CHRISTCHURCH – HOYTS RICCARTON
Fri 9 Mar 4:00 pm
Wed 14 March 2:00 pm
Sat 24 March 8:30 pm  SPECIAL EVENT: Soirée Francophonie

WELLINGTON – EMBASSY THEATRE
Mon 12 March 2:00 pm
Tue 20 March 4:20 pm
Sat 24 March 8:15 pm  SPECIAL EVENT: Soirée Francophonie

NEW PLYMOUTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Tue 13 March 8:30 pm

NELSON – SUTER THEATRE
Sat 24 March 3:30 pm
Tue 27 March 11:15 am

TIMARU – MOVIE MAX DIGITAL
Mon 19 March 7:30 pm

TAURANGA – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sat 17 March 8:15 pm
Thu 22 March 11:00 am

HAVELOCK NORTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Fri 23 March 11:00 am
Sun 1 April 8:25 pm

DUNEDIN – RIALTO CINEMAS
Sun 25 March 8:20 pm

HAMILTON – LIDO CINEMA
Sat 31 March 2:00 pm
Tue 10 April 11:00 am

ARROWTOWN – DOROTHY BROWNS
Mon 9 April 8:30 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH – EVENT CINEMAS
Sun 8 April 3:45 pm
Wed 11 April 1:20 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

More films from this category of the 2018 French Film Festival