150 Milligrams / La fille de Brest

Director: Emmanuelle Bercot
Cast: Sidse Babett Knudsen, Benoît Magimel, Charlotte Laemmel, Isabelle De Hertogh
Country: France
Language: French with English subtitles
Year of production: 2016
Genre: Thriller
Rating: TBC
Duration: 127 min
Festivals: San Sebastian International Film Festival 2016, Official Competition

“Suspense, tension, invention… an efficient thriller.” Le Monde

Synopsis

In the Brest hospital where she works, a lung specialist discovers a direct link between some patients’ suspicious deaths and Mediator, a medicine that has been prescribed for 30 years. Determined to bring the truth to light, she challenges the power of the medical court and pharmaceutical companies. From the isolation at the beginning of her discovery to the explosion of media coverage of the scandal, this true story, inspired by the real life of Irène Frachon is a David and Goliath battle to see truth triumph at last.

Sidse Babett Knudsen (Courted – Festival 2016) plays a strong woman with a dry sense of humour winning over her adversaries and the audience alike. Benoît Magimel (also in Standing Tall) gives a nuanced performance as the hospital’s head of research who is taken in by Irène’s charming perseverance.

The Festival is screening Emmanuelle Bercot’s most recent films, 150 Milligrams and Standing Tall, inviting the audience to discover her multifaceted oeuvre. In both films, Bercot deploys a nervy, quick-footed style to show how people navigate complex institutional frameworks, and hold on to their humanity, even under adverse conditions. A truly compelling film.

Trailer

Screenings

Ticket links will be added as they become available
Note that in Arrowtown tickets are only available from the cinema.


WELLINGTON
Thurs 2 Mar 1:50 pm D
Mon 6 Mar 8:40 pm E
Sun 12 Mar 8:25 pm D
Thurs 16 Mar 4:00 pm D

AUCKLAND – RIALTO CINEMAS
Fri 3 Mar 1:45 pm
Thurs 9 Mar 12:10 pm
Sun 12 Mar 8:00 pm
Mon 20 Mar 10:30 am

AUCKLAND – TAKAPUNA
Sun 5 Mar 4:00 pm
Thurs 9 Mar 10:30 am
Mon 13 Mar 8:30 pm

NELSON
Sun 12 Mar 3:15 pm
Thurs 16 Mar 8:30 pm

CHRISTCHURCH
Fri 10 Mar 4:05 pm
Wed 15 Mar 6:05 pm
Sat 25 Mar 1:50 pm

TIMARU
Wed 15 Mar 7:20 pm

ARROWTOWN
Wed 22 Mar 1:00 pm

TAURANGA
Fri 24 Mar 8:00 pm

PALMERSTON NORTH
Sun 26 Mar 1:30 pm
Wed 29 Mar 11:00 am

NEW PLYMOUTH
Tues 28 Mar 6:00 pm

HAMILTON
Mon 27 Mar 6:00 pm
Mon 10 Apr 8:30 pm

HAVELOCK NORTH
Fri 31 Mar 8:10 pm
Sat 8 Apr 1:15 pm

DUNEDIN
Fri 31 Mar 8:30 pm
Tues 4 Apr 1:20 pm

E Embassy Theatre
D Deluxe Theatre

La Fille de Brest Online

More films from this category of the 2017 French Film Festival